Strawberry Banana Grits Pancakes (Gluten Free and Dairy Free)

I know, I know….this sounds like an odd combination doesn’t it????  Well, I agree…but it works.

I got up this morning and was in one of those breakfast ruts!!  NOTHING I had made before sounded like something I wanted now.  I also knew that I just did not want eggs so this is where the magic sometimes happens or the nightmare.  🙂  I just never know how one of my experiments will turn out.  Today, thankfully, it turned out to be delicious!

Unfortunately, because it was an experiment…and I got caught up in it….I forgot to take a picture until only one was left!! Oh well…you will get the gist!!  In the meantime, I did not want all of you to miss out on this VERY easy recipe that is sure to please your family.  These are a bit more hearty than a light and fluffy buttermilk pancake. They are filling and soak up the syrup.  So if you like a “stick to your ribs” kind of pancake, give this one a whirl!!!  They kind of remind me of pan fried mush that my dad you used to make when we were kids…just…minus the mushy middle part! Hope you enjoy these!!

Recipe:

1 cup Bisquick gluten free baking mix

1/2 cup old fashioned grits

3/4 cup Naked brand strawberry banana juice smoothie (you can find this at most stores in the orange juice section usually…I actually got this at Walgreens)

3/4 cup vanilla soy milk

Mix together the baking mix and the grits.  Add the smoothie and the soy milk and stir until combined well.  If it is really thick you can add a bit more smoothie but should be the consistency of cake batter.

This will make four 5″-6″ pancakes.  So you can increase the ingredients to accommodate the number of people you are serving.

I used a ladle to spoon the batter onto a hot griddle and smooth out the top with the back of the ladle.  Cook for about three minutes and then flip.  These will not bubble through like traditional pancakes so keep an eye on them.

Serve hot with maple syrup and bacon, sausage, ham or nothing else at all!!

IMG_0633

Remember…never skip breakfast and EAT PASSIONATELY every day!!

~Kimberly

Leave a comment