Rosemary and Thyme Breakfast Potatoes with Smoked Sausage (Gluten Free and Dairy Free)

I have been trying my hand at container gardening lately.  I will say that my herbs are growing like crazy, everything else…not so much.  With that being said, I have been trying to use as much of my fresh herbs in as many recipes as possible to make sure the herbs continue to flourish.  You can use dried herbs too if you do not have fresh herbs readily available.   Just do not use as much in dried herbs as fresh as they have a more concentrated flavor.

This is a great “comfort food” breakfast.  Let me know what you think!

RECIPE:

6 medium Gold Potatoes, diced

2 medium Onion, diced

1 medium green pepper, diced

1/4 cup fresh thyme

1/3 cup fresh rosemary

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp kosher salt

2 tbsp olive oil (possibly 1 to 2 tbsp more if potatoes dry out)

***Optional- add gluten free smoke sausage or breakfast meat of choice

Put the olive oil in a skillet, dice potatoes and cook over medium heat for about five minutes.

Potatoes

Add the diced onion, diced pepper, and salt.  Cook for about 10 minutes and add the thyme, rosemary, and garlic powder.

20150607_112639

Cook until veggies are soft and potatoes are done and browned.  I used a smoked sausage that I found in the market down here in Florida.

20150607_104650

If you cannot find this exact sausage, try any gluten free substitute you wish and add it halfway through the cooking process and let the flavor and fat seep into the potatoes.

20150607_113833

 Please note that I needed more olive oil periodically throughout the cooking process to keep the potatoes from drying out and sticking to the bottom of the pan.  However, if you are using this smoked sausage or a meat with fat that will release as it cooks,  you will not need to add any more.  The fat will coat the potatoes.  Just watch your urge to add more oil before you add the meat because you can end up with a very greasy dish.

When I served this I placed two fried eggs on top and it is so delicious as the yolks break and run over the potatoes.  This was a big hit.  I hope you will consider this as a breakfast option the next time you do not know what to make. this would be awesome with sausage, ham, even bacon.  I would pre-cook the bacon by itself and add it at the end though.

This is truly a dish you can become passionate about! 😉

20150607_115214

This is a fork full of deliciousness!!!

Here is to a passionate palate breakfast!

~Kimberly

Leave a comment